The Last Capitalist

A site dedicated to restoring individualism in the United States of America

Bribery in the State Department

Posted by jemartynowski on August 27, 2009

This is just ridiculous.  I can’t believe we allow this crap to go on in United States government.  OK, I can.  But still, that doesn’t change its status as “amazingly awful.”

Yesterday, my fiance and I were applying for passports.  We need them quickly because, of course, we waited too long to get them.  They already cost $75.00 for the State Department’s processing and the Post Office charges $25.00 for their processing fee.  OK, I guess I can understand, kind of.  But since we’re in a hurry, we’re pretty much screwed, right?

Nope.  We were informed that for an additional $60.00, we can get a bright orange sticker that says “expedite” on it attached to our applications.  This means that the processing people will process them before the others.  Isn’t this essentially a bribe?  Wouldn’t this be something we’d complain about if we saw it in some third world country?  There is no additional costs to the State Dept. to accomplish this, justifying the $60.00.  They simply see the sticker and move it to the front of the line.  It is nothing more than greasing the palms of the government in order to get something done faster.  Holy crap.

Am I missing something?  Can someone explain to me how it is not a bribe?  I mean besides the fact that they don’t call it a bribe.

3 Responses to “Bribery in the State Department”

  1. If the state department has to have extra staff on hand to handle a surge of passport applications in the summertime, because some lazy asshole didn’t apply for his passport ahead of time, of course they should charge extra, just like you pay extra for any rush service. UPS doesn’t charge the same for one or two day service, and neither should the government.
    Steve

    • jemartynowski said

      I understand I’m a lazy asshole. However, it doesn’t actually require them to add any staff to process the application. It just gets put ahead of others. The only real indication of how long it will take to process a non-expidited app is how many people were able to afford paying extra cash ahead of them. Hell, they even told me that if we didn’t put the sticker on it, the time it would take depended on how many have paid extra to jump in line. So, basically, non extra staff and no extra work. Just paid line-cutting. I would understand if they did something extra, but they don’t. It’s a $60.00 line-cutting fee.

    • jemartynowski said

      I guess what I’m saying is that it’s unfair to those who couldn’t pay the extra before me who were responsible enough to do so. Just because it’s unfair in my favor doesn’t mean it’s a good thing.

Leave a Reply

 
